Resolution Number: 2015-01-08Tribal Council Support
2015-01-08 EXCERPT:

Mushkegowuk Council 29th Annual Mamowihitowin

Resolution No. 2015-01-08

Tribal Council Support

Attawapiskat First Nation

First Nation

Fort Albany

First Nation

Moose Cree First Nation

Chief Derek Stephen

Kashechewan First Nation

Chief Andrew Solomon

Fort Albany First Nation

Taykwa Tagamou Carried Nation

Chapleau Cree First Nation

Missanabie Cree

First Nation

Certified copy of a resolution passed on January 28, 2015

WHEREAS Mushkegowuk Council was notified on September 4, 2012, by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) that the Council would be subject to major tribal funding cuts of 58%; and

WHEREAS the Mushkegowuk Council of Chiefs approved the reduction of the MC core budget in order to reflect the funding cuts; and

WHEREAS Mushkegowuk Council executive director presented to the Council of Chiefs the Tribal Council Consolidated Work Plan 2015-2016 to deal with the cuts; and

WHEREAS Mushkegowuk Council's executive director presented the Tribal Council Consolidated Work Plan 2014-2015 to deal with the cuts; and

WHEREAS Mushkegowuk Council for the 2015-2016 fiscal year has been approved by AANDC for Tier 3 funding of $500,000 which is the highest amount allowed under AANDC's new policy; and

January 28, 2015

Kashechewan First Nation

WHEREAS AANDC requires that for a tribal council to receive the Tier 3 -$500,000.00 funding the tribal council is required to provide supporting

documents/letters, from the First Nation communities it serves, supporting the funding application in relation to core administrative costs, delivery of AANDC funded services, and capacity development of member First Nations in areas such as Band Governance and Economic Development;

that the First Nations of Mushkegowuk Council continue to support the AANDC Funding Application and the Tribal Council Consolidated Work Plan of Mushkegowuk Council for yearly or blocking funding; and the continuation of the provision of advisory and support services by Mushkegowuk Council to its member First Nation communities of Attawapiskat First Nation, Kashechewan First Nation, Fort Albany First Nation, Moose Cree First Nation, Taykwa Tagamou Nation, Chapleau First Nation and Missanabie First Nation.